And There’s the Wall

I think I’ve hit max capacity of what my brain can withstand. We had great discussions this morning about being leaders on our campuses when we return. That’s not anything that concerns me; I feel confident enough to share information with my colleagues, and what I don’t know, I know how to find the answers. 

What I really need now is time with the curriculum. When we moved to breakout sessions, I decided that since I’m teaching something new, I should start a new Google site instead of a new SchoolWeb page, though I’m sure I’ll run into the same issues with connectivity that I’ve suffered in the past. Then I turned my attention to the curriculum to figure out just where to start. Then I went looking for resources online. Then I started talking with others from my campus about how to present what we’ve learned to our colleagues when we return to school in August. What it boils down to is that I’m overwhelmed with so much information and too many different ways to present it. 

The thing to remember (and maybe I’ve said this or seen it somewhere else before) is that the content must come first. And so after today I’ll go get a (real, not iBooks) copy of A Separate Peace and start reading and annotating it (with highlighters, post-its, and pencil) just as my students will be doing this summer. Then I’ll come back to all of the technology at my disposal and figure out what I can use to enrich and enhance students’ learning. 

4 thoughts on “And There’s the Wall

  1. Jerram Froese June 24, 2013 / 2:54 pm

    Kate – awesome reflection. You’ve hit the nail on the head. We need time and capacity to play with the tools at hand, but what it all comes back to is our content. How do these tools empower our students to connect to content and concepts that come to life within the four walls of your classroom. The fact that you’ve jumped in head first the past 5 days gives me no pause in knowing that your students will be making those connections in new and unique ways next year!

    As for the connectivity – a whole new world awaits next year with the new infrastructure being installed as we speak. I think you’ll be pleased…

    Thanks for everything you have contributed over the past week … I’m looking forward to August!

    • k8mayo June 26, 2013 / 9:39 am

      Thanks for the opportunity, Jerram. I think I’ll be ready for August when it gets here. 🙂

  2. mcmots June 24, 2013 / 4:03 pm

    Learning is a function of time. You can’t digest it all after a few classes. Funny that it usually all comes back to highlighters and a book…and interacting and connecting with kids. The reason most of us do this anyway. Enjoyed the blog. I hope you keep it up through the next school year so we can see how it goes and learn along with you.

    • k8mayo June 26, 2013 / 9:38 am

      Thanks, Mike. I’ll definitely keep the blog going.

Leave a Reply

