iLife Suite for MacBook

Using iPhoto on the Mac is pretty similar to using it on the iPad, the main difference being the amped up editing tools that are available on the Mac. I had some trouble getting my devices to communicate with each other so I could transfer photos from the iPad to the Mac without tethering. Once I got the Cloud settings right, they showed up in the photo stream.  If I had them all in a folder on Google drive, I could have dragged/dropped them into iPhoto easily. (There’s an idea.) The slideshow feature is pretty cool–you could use it to introduce a new unit or to have kids write responses to images/art. You can also create a book and save it as a PDF instead of actually paying to print it.

I have to interject a reminder of how important it’s going to be for us to get our kids to save stuff to their H drives (or better yet their Google drive) so they’ll have access to it no matter what device they’re on. This will save a lot of heartache later.

iMovie on the Mac is very different from iMovie on the iPad. Where I thought I had made something pretty awesome on iPad, it became multiplied by 300 when I created something similar on the Mac. Endless editing features for video and audio. Wait until you have all of your images in the right order before you try to do any voiceovers–you’ll save yourself a lot of work and redoing later on. When the project is finished, just export to your Google drive for sharing. Be sure to save the project file until grading is complete so changes can be made without having to start over completely.

Garage Band on the Mac is pretty cool. Students can create podcasts and include images to support their words. Encourage them to write a script first and use the space bar to break the audio into tracks so if they mess up they won’t have to re-record the entire track. Students can also record themselves reading an essay they’ve written to check for fluency. I didn’t play with the voice features too much here because I’m not crazy about how I sound when I’m recorded.

Overall, iLife on the Mac is way more powerful, but students can be just as successful with these apps on their iPads.

Leave a Reply

