Writing

Today’s prompt is “Tell about a writing challenge you dealt with and how it can help you as a writing teacher.”

My biggest challenge with writing is simply the act itself. Starting. Continuing. Finishing. I know many of my students feel the same way.

Where do I start?

Start at the beginning.

What do I say?

Say whatever you feel.

How do I end?

End when you have nothing left to say.

The answers appear simple, but if you’re someone who has a hard time expressing yourself, like many students are, sitting down with pen and paper (or at a keyboard) can be paralyzing.

This helps me in teaching writing because I can totally relate to that feeling. One strategy is just to write “I can’t think of anything to write” over and over again until an idea springs to your mind. The thought is that the physical act of writing will trigger some switch, and that repetitive sentence will morph into the words you want to share.

Accountability is another thing that can get you writing. When you know others will read what you have to say, you feel a sense of responsibility to get the words right so they will respect your opinion. If you form a writing community with others, your motivation to share your thoughts may be inspired by the fear of owing everyone a Starbucks (#inklings).

One thing I’ve noticed: the more I read, the more easily writing comes to me.

And that’s all I have to say, so I’ll end here.

Leave a Reply

