On Books, Authors, and a Festival

1000px-Circle-redo.svg.png
“Every sunset is an opportunity to reset.” – Richie Norton

I’ve read 11 books since January. That’s almost a book a week! Four books were by male authors and served as a reminder that I should read more books by male authors (who are underrepresented in YA literature, in my opinion). Three books were nonfiction, which is impressive because that’s a genre I don’t often gravitate to. And two books helped me discover a new favorite author: Robin Talley. I was able to find at least 30 minutes a day to read, and I hope to increase that number (maybe 45 minutes a day) for the next nine weeks.

I’m currently reading Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston (from the AP list). Their Eyes Were Watching God was really challenging at first because the characters speak with a very strong Southern dialect. While I’m used to reading about a page a minute, this book slowed me down so much that I became frustrated. I just got to page 50, and I’ve finally caught on to the rhythm, so I’ll keep reading. When I finish, I plan to read The Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison as my second AP read.

I’m also reading Ruta Sepetys’ Salt to the Sea which is written from the perspectives of four different characters as they journey through World War II. I chose this book because the author is on a panel (along with Sarah Dessen and E. Lockhart) that will be presenting at an educators’ luncheon as part of the North Texas Teen Book Festival later this month. I’ve already read books by the other two authors, so I wanted to familiarize myself with Sepetys in case I run into her in the bathroom line or something. Here’s how I imagine that conversation would go:

Ruta: Hello!

Me: …

Ruta: [walks past me to an open stall]

As awkward as that moment would be for me, I’m still really excited about the event!

 

3 thoughts on “On Books, Authors, and a Festival

  1. Travis Zuber April 7, 2016 / 11:31 am

    Always make a terribly punny joke… Wait for the non-laugh and then know that you will forever be the most awkward encounter of the person’s life and your memory will live forever as they incorporate your meeting into their lectures/discussions/literature/conversations… #perfectadvice but tooooooo many pronouns!

  2. Steven Barb April 26, 2016 / 4:19 pm

    Thanks for the male underrepresentation shout out. I have been noticing this as well. It is kind of hard to sell boys on reading books when the major topic de jour is romance hahahaha.

    Awesome book shout out. I like that website goodreads.com. Never would have known about it if it weren’t for your hyper links.

    But the BEST PART OF THIS BLOG ………… the end!!! You are hilarious. I am covering detention and I am cracking up while looking at my computer. All the kinds think that I am weird but your interaction with Ruta is HILARIOUS!!!!!

    • k8mayo April 26, 2016 / 9:47 pm

      🙂 Ask Mrs. Friend about her Ruta Sepetys meeting!

Leave a Reply

