Dear Mr. President

Dear Mr. President,

Congratulations! You’re now the leader of the most influential and advanced country in the world! With such power comes an awesome amount of responsibility, so I hope you’ll consider this advice as you take office: Read.

Read because it’s what great leaders do. They read to understand critical events of the past so they’re certain not to repeat mistakes in the future.

Read because it will make you a better human being. The empathy and compassion gleaned from a good book will help you relate to the many American people who have endured experiences quite different from your own.

Finally, read because kids are paying attention. As a teacher, I encourage my students to read, and I point to examples of successful readers like Barack Obama, Oprah Winfrey, Bill Gates, and Ellen DeGeneres. When kids know that someone they admire is a reader, they’re more likely to continue the habit themselves.

I wish you the best of luck. The world is watching.

Kate

img_0579
I’ve taken the liberty of compiling a starter stack, a nice mixture of fiction and nonfiction that my students and I have enjoyed over the years.

 

2 thoughts on “Dear Mr. President

  1. Jeanette Rooks January 20, 2017 / 4:32 pm

    I love the reading selections!

    • k8mayo January 22, 2017 / 4:29 pm

      I tried to get a good mix in there, fiction & nonfiction, YA and contemporary. I think he should start with the Word Power one.

Leave a Reply

