I Support Public Education

It’s been a wild few weeks! Since my last post, I’ve spent a lot of time reflecting on my career as a teacher. This resulted in a series of seven essays that I submitted as a candidate for my district’s teacher of the year. I’ve also spent a lot of time defending my profession as I tweeted my senators and various others to express my opposition to the confirmation of Betsy DeVos as secretary of education. While both tasks were frustrating, one was far more rewarding.

I’ve seen this floating around on Facebook recently, so I thought I’d share my path through the public school system.

I am the product of public education. 

Longfellow Elementary School (Coffeyville, KS)

Roosevelt Junior High School (Coffeyville, KS)

Field Kindley High School (Coffeyville, KS)

Coffeyville Community College, AA (Coffeyville, KS)

Pittsburg State University, BSEd. in English (Pittsburg, KS)

I am a public educator and have been since 1999.

Field Kindley High School (Coffeyville, KS)

Hebron High School (Carrollton, TX)

Every teacher and professor I’ve met along the way has played a crucial role in my life. I wrote about many of them in the essays I mentioned before. Maybe I’ll turn those into blog posts!

schools

 

Leave a Reply

